Move our Money has been bugging me all day…

I am hoping I can get off work in time to go to the Cooper-Hewitt panel discussion led by DK Holland.  The panel is cool enough.  I particularly like the New York based 2×4 design group and am highly bemused by Stefan Sagmeister.  True, I have not studied this kind of art, or much of any kind of art.  However, I am a consumer.  I decided post-quick I'd not consume the Tshirts that were produced for the 'Move Our Money' campaign by Sagmeister.  

I thought it was just momentary pickiness on my part.  No, it was more than that.  It was a foreign approach to an American problem.  Americans need to work on their problems then they might work them out.  So far as I know American women don't find their underwear a problem.  Yet french women are posing to Forbes or vis versa about how to solve this yet to surface underwear problem.  

Yes, indeed, sometimes the graphical is not ancient art statistics.  Sometimes its present realities.   How about stacks of diamonds, oil, cows and pigs with lots of foreign greenery behind.  That would be more Ben and Jerry and America would take a look.   Oh I wasn't this miffed at the time, it was reading this entzerrung that blew my stack. 

"Stefan Sagmeister: I think the idea of putting a strong story behind a logo is wonderful. We once did a logo for the organisation “Move Our Money”. Their aim is to use 15% of the defence budget of the US for education. The logo was simply a pie chart, divided up according to the allocation of the entire US budget. It looks like a sun, with the upper part the budget allocation of the Pentagon – coloured red. We made a lapel pin out of it. The idea worked amazingly well. Everybody asked what it was. Nobody in the US knows that 51 percent of federal expenditure in the US goes on the military."–via entzerrung"

I am afraid the above paragraph is a niche point of view.  Americans like Josh Fried know:

that in 2004 actual military expenditure was

  • $450 billion, about 19% of the federal budget.
  • "Assistance for the Poor" totals around $350 billion, or 15% of the federal budget.
  • Foreign Aid constitutes about $8 billion.
  • The interest on the national debt comes to $320 billion per year.
  • I am laughing while I write this.  Because the panel's name is "Ego".  and I think that people know about American federal spending on military because there are over 32 million links in Google .  The project 'Move Our Money' has no technorati tags.  I just made one but it got eaten up.   The point is if I huf this post over to technorati, the Ego of it might get picked up and something might evolve.  Then that would be art.

    I think I should go over and join Miss Huff in her fight against puff.

    Labelled:

    , , , ,

    3 responses to “Move our Money has been bugging me all day…

    1. Did you end up going? It was pretty cool, the conclusion I got was that designers want to create their own work and a strong ego is necessary to back up what we want to create for clients.

      Sagmeister had some amazing project which he worked with a programmer; where the design follows you when you walk by it. they created some algorithm that reads the pixels of you from a camera and bases the movement of the design on the pixel positions.

    2. Do you agree with the panel premise? Do we create our own work, even when we are allowed to? Is it necessary even?

      I am not sure about the strong ego, I think it will detract from the work. What I noticed about Sagmeister's work so far viewed is it says hey look at me. That's good and if clients want that he will get to do that work. Such as in Ben and Jerry's.

      Some food for thought on Ego from 'fondling your muse,' John Warner, "Ego feeds on two things fawning praise and crushing other egos."

      My hopes for the panel was how does the social responsibility for the work fare with Ego?

      There is an Architecture for Humanity meetup on Tuesday in the NYC.

    3. Pingback: Design History Lab » Blog Archive » Tibor Kalman: Questioning the Role of the Designer

    Leave a Reply

