Monday madness on the train

Today I read from Michael J. Gelb’s Da Vinci Decoded After experiencing some Monday madness on the train (see story below), the way I see it, there are two options I could adopt from this book.

(1)  How to Smile Like Mona Lisa (Discovery Channel has a version of this also, its all about the dots.)  [see also mona lisa Images for a modern world]

Mona

(2)  Begin and end each day with a meditation.

When I began this post I thought of only the above readings.  However in the search I found this quote from Dalai Lama. 

“Multiplying Your Angles of Vision”

“If you look from a different angle … you will find that the act which has made you angry has also given you certain opportunities, something which otherwise would not have been possible….”

Below this quote was some information on this peace sculpture I have been working on since last year.  It is very significant, I would not have found it if I had not written this post.  

As to Monday Madness on the train…. A woman was fanning herself vigourously over a few customers.  She was wearing a distinctive fragrance.  Finally, one woman said, “Would you please not fan so hard?  You are blowing my hair.”  The woman who was fanning got angry.  There were words.  The woman voicing her request got up and tried to leave the train.  The fanning woman would not let go of her hold of the post to let the woman by.   The other woman pushed through.  There was noise.  And at the other subway train door, two men were scuffling to get into the train at the same time.  It didn’t stop there, they continued after the doors closed.  The guy next to me frowned.  I smiled and said matter of factly, “Monday Madness.”  He smiled back.

I felt the woman was right to ask about the fan.  It wasn’t very pleasant and the woman fanning may not even have known what she was doing.  People get lost in another place, far, far away when they are on that subway.

I also read something else later from the same book that made me smile:

“That which we do not bring to consciousness appears in our lives as fate.”–C.G. Jung

Leave a Reply

