If you follow a few rules you can change the world

I was walking in the hood this Sunday. Better make that heights. Well we don’t have subway service here on weekends so I’ve decided not to purchase a monthly card from MTA in the future. Their alternatives are just not worth it. I can live without the MTA. phew! what a relief.

So I come upon this sign that says “Change the Rules….Change the World.” I giggle. That explains this topsy turvy neighborhood that embraces prostitutes and drug dealers at both ends, both sides. So bad that taxi drivers from mid-town are quite in horror no matter which google map directions I give them. I’ve tried FDR and the Henry Hudson Parkway. Either way is a real mind blower about how this city works.

And too, on my walk from where I live, up to the Overlook Terrace stair mountain, up onto Fort Washington, there were groups of people walking. They don’t speak English, they don’t know the culture. All spread out, the width of the sidewalk. They did not follow politeness of what used to be New York culture. They did not give way to just give another a chance to go further.  The message conveyed was you are invisible, you don’t exist.  Perhaps that is because that is the way they feel about themselves.  I held my ground and they looked at me as if I was infringing on their ability to change the rules.

Wouldn’t “follow a few rules” change the world?

As you may know if you watch CNN, or if you are particularly intelligent and knew this already, duh.   Our President pushed the button on Iraq, not accepting Hussein’s offers to leave the country. He used our young men, he took their lives, he took innocent Iraqi’s live, he maimed them all, all in the name of terrorism from our country. Indeed.  Our country, is my country. My ancestors founded the very land I walked on this afternoon. The rich Dutch, the Melin’s.Ms. Melin married Mr. Hatfield and so on and on.   The British came and ousted them. Then the Dutch came back and won again. But again the bloody English conquered them and the Indians too. All on this soil. Trouble is the Dutch followed a few rules. One was being sociable, having integrity, freedom of speech. So they bought Manhattan for $100 and those they bought it from stayed. And then what happened? If you change the rules you will not change the world you will continue to create the muck that we must endure at this moment in time.

My family in Texas did not want me to come to New York. Its not civilized they said, welfare state. That was early 1970. I reminded them of Drs. Vondersmith and the Millins, our ancestors, how well they did here. I think back now. It was god awful in 1970 and it is god awful now. But I survived very well. I gave much to charity both in deed and money. I rose to the top in each endeavour for someone else, but not for me. When Democrats were in office those were the best times, not wonderful, but the best, the fairest.

And my ancestors in Louisiana, what of them and New York. Well here’s a quote for you about them from New York during the civil war. My great grandmother of French Descent, Roche, (she married a couple of generations later of Mr. Hatfield) was one of those they spoke about here and she would never ever let one forget how the Yankees came in and raped and pillaged and destroyed everyone’s property even if they had nothing to do whatsoever with the Blacks who had traded their own as slaves. For you see it was not about the slaves it was about the economics. They came to steal, they were sharks. And indeed, times have not changed, after all these years. Except we know a lot more about Lincoln and a whole lot more about freedom of speech.

” Among young soldiers, the most observable feature of the place was the beauty of its women.” Orton S. Clark of the 116th New York reported that “Among the inhabitants, most of whom were French, there seemed less of that antipathy which we had always seen manifested in other places, and the women, we were foolish enough to think, showed evident signs of pleasure at our arrival. All later was explained as only their joy that we were being so easily led on to certain disaster.” here

I try to be joyful.

See further some cool stuff about New York Colonial Dutch here

Leave a Reply

