Pimples and Freckles removed

Grandmother Ehler’s father’s mother was Vondersmith

Daddy Jim Constantine in front of his jewelry store “The Time” in Mansfield. His dad, a jeweler and metalsmith, was Mayor of Mansfield during Civil War time.

I stand corrected by a reader who turns out to live in New York and is my ancestor. The fact being that Dr. Vondersmith is also a grandfather for her too. I’ve gone and mixed up first names. So Dr. Vondersmith is Dr. Eli Vondersmith. I think he is my several great grandfather on my dad’s mom’s side. That would be my grandmother Ehler, the “super” serial entrepreneur.

The reader made me smile at the beauty of the internet and search engines. I had not looked Dr. Vondersmith up on the internet. I had obtained handwritten census records in 1973 in Manhattan’s Census Record archives and thought that I would not find more. I’ve only looked up my mom’s side, the reason more or less, to prove the value of the internet to her. Her bearing much animosity to computers in general, well deserved to say the least, was dissolved as I unravelled the mystery of the Constantine’s for her via the internet. Oh and of course the search did require some ultra-detective finesse.

Today I searched for Dr. Vondersmith and smiled again. The reader, my new found cousin had provided this information on another forum. Dr. Vondersmith was into essential oils product and very likely not against advertising. Also as my mom always said he was a Yankee, a surgeon in the Union army, whereas her relatives were on the other side.

Vondersmith,Eli W. served as a surgeon in the Union army, company F,
unit:6 N. Y. National Guard. (30 Days, 1863.)

Newspaper: New York Daily Times, 04 April 1854 (page 4?)
PIMPLES AND FRECKLES can be removed from the face by using ELI W.
VONDERSMITH’S EXTRACT OF ROSES AND ELDER FLOWERS. I will warrant it, or the
money will be returned. Camphor Ice – Camphor Ice – A certain cure for
chapped hands and lips. Persons who are troubled with Salt (Rhoom?) will
find this an excellent remedy. Prepared only at ELI W. VONDERSMITH’S Bowery
Drug Store. No 158 Bowery, above Broome-st., and sold by Mrs. HAYES, No. 175
Fulton-st., Brooklyn.

Oh well …touche


icon
icon

3 responses to “Pimples and Freckles removed

  1. Elise,

    “I will warrant it, or the money will be returned” I wish more modern products had that guarantee!

    geekboy

  2. Elise,

    “I will warrant it, or the money will be returned” I wish more modern products had that guarantee!

    geekboy

  3. Elise,

    “I will warrant it, or the money will be returned” I wish more modern products had that guarantee!

    geekboy

Leave a Reply

