If only one shows up you are out of luck

That is what my bartending instructor told me after 15 minutes of class time had passed by this evening. I said wait a minute, I put in big travel time to be here tonight. He said don’t put that guilt trip on me. All I am saying is that I will stay with the other class while they do their test so that I can practice drinks. Wow! That was so surreal.

About 45 minutes later another classmate showed up. We did the drinks together. Along the way we enlisted some of the other class as they passed their tests. We got them to teach us. We also made plans to do the class tomorrow and job hunt on Monday evening. Except that now all has changed due to my flight out. I’ll leave a message with the school for her on Monday.

“No one — not rock stars, not professional athletes, not software billionaires, and not even geniuses — ever makes it alone.”–Malcolm Gladwell, “Outliers”

I was talking about confidence and the bar to the guy who seemed to have the most confidence. Amazingly he did not have confidence for the job though he sure did for the entire bar. He knows that bar totally. Gosh, I said all you have to do is find the right place. That’s easy, know who you are. I know that I am the medium size chair, not too young and not so old. So I’ll look for venues that intellectualize the mixology.

He looked at me amused. Then I told him you know if you are willing to relocate to Houston, my nephew has two nightclubs. His name is DJ Good Grief. The guy looked at me discerningly hard and said that is very interesting. Yes I am familiar with him. There were no words but alot of spirit misting forth, if there were words that could convey the mist, possibly, somewhere between fear and r-e-s-p-e-c-t, respect…

The Word on the Gov

Leave a Reply

