Tribes need their lines

Rushing through President Obama’s inauguration speech, hmm, has the government ever done anything for me but take away my brothers? Why can’t we just say don’t expect anything from the government. Its just something that gets in the way of me having a good time. I don’t expect anything. Volunteer and work? I’ve known these things well for over 45 years and that knowledge has nothing to do with government. Such knowledge comes from the heart, its something that can’t be dictated or rewarded by anyone other than the doer. Opportunities to volunteer and work need not be manufactured; they are right in front of our eyes, eyes that are often blinded by the grander scale.

Please remember that hatred for the races goes both ways. Don’t I know it. I’ve been living in the ghetto for over six years and look at that hopeless invite I received from City Hall for the inauguration. I would say the writer of the invites and the people in the ghetto are not tribes, they have no lines.

I chose, not knowing it, to work in a race quota driven market rather than sink every living hour in giving away my ideas to empower hmm evil. My brother-in-law said to me the other day, don’t you think that was a strategic blunder? Not really I replied. I came into a lot of wealth that no stock market will ever take away from me. I experienced true prejudice because I was white. Vikingbro experienced the same in junior and high school; he was involuntarily bused to an all black school. Just remember it goes both ways, all the time, all over the world. Its not dissolved lines that makes it work, its knowing who you are and there you are.

The words that caught my eye in President Obama’s Inauguration speech though, oh so sharply, made me pause,

“that the lines of tribe shall soon dissolve.”

I am sure there is a more hopeful and genuine way to talk about tribes in the next eight years.

Download Seth Godin’s free book on Tribes from Audible and you’ll understand that Tribes need their lines, that’s what makes people tick, its their soul.

Mr. Godin says in “Are You in the Tribe?“:

“People form tribes with or without us. The challenge is to work for the tribe and make it something even better.”

original photo by menard and elise miller © 2006 pastemagazine creation © 2009

Leave a Reply

